Mantooth Named to Arkansas Future Mobility Advisory Council

April 22, 2022

Alan Mantooth


Gov. Asa Hutchinson recently created by executive order the Arkansas Future Mobility Advisory Council. Alan Mantooth, Distinguished Professor of electrical engineering, is among those named to the council.

"We are here today to take a step into the future of mobility," which will "impact the options in transportation and supply chain deliveries for generations to come," Hutchinson stated at the press conference on Feb. 22. "The goal of the council is to ensure that we are prepared for electrification, autonomous vehicles and advanced air mobility to integrate into our existing infrastructure and create an environment in which they can thrive." Advanced Air Mobility, a market that doesn't even exist today, is expected to be a $1.4 trillion industry by 2040.

Duties of the council will include:

  • Identifying state laws and regulations that create a barrier to development enhancement of electrification and advanced mobility in the state.
  • Making recommendations for policies and programs to support and facilitate the development of electrification and advanced mobility.
  • Developing priorities and recommendations as to how we can secure federal resources and funding for these areas of future mobility.
  • Identifying the needs in our education and workforce training to encourage and provide the workforce that's needed in advanced mobility.
  • Creating incentives to grow these opportunities and amplify the economic activity in job creation.

Cyrus Sigari, co-founder and managing partner of UP Partners, will serve as chairman of the council. Other council members include representatives from Walmart, J.B. Hunt, Canoo, Arkansas Aerospace and Defense Alliance, Entergy, MISO, Southern Arkansas University Tech, Arkansas Auto Dealers Association, Arkansas Trucking Association and several state agencies.