Faculty Directory

Alan Mantooth

Alan Mantooth

Distinguished Professor, The Twenty-First Century Research Leadership Chair in Engineering

Department of Electrical Engineering


(ELEG)-Electrical Engineering

Phone: 479-575-4838

Download vcard


Dr. Mantooth (S'83 - M'90 - SM'97 – F’09) received the B.S. (summa cum laude) and M. S. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Arkansas in 1985 and 1986, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1990. He joined Analogy in 1990 where he focused on semiconductor device modeling and the research and development of HDL-based modeling tools and techniques. Besides modeling, his interests include analog and mixed-signal IC design and power electronics. In 1996, Dr. Mantooth was named Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Analogy (now owned by Synopsys).

In 1998, he joined the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, as an Associate Professor. He has received numerous teaching, service, and research awards since returning to the UA. He was also selected to the Georgia Tech Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni in 2002, and the Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers in 2006. Dr. Mantooth was promoted to his present rank of Distinguished Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department in 2011. He has co-founded two companies, Lynguent and Ozark Integrated Circuits.

Dr. Mantooth helped establish the National Center for Reliable Electric Power Transmission (NCREPT) at the UA in 2005, for which he serves as director. In 2006, he was selected as the inaugural holder of the 21st Century Endowed Chair in Mixed-Signal IC Design and CAD. He currently holds the 21st Century Leadership Chair in Engineering. Dr. Mantooth has published over 350 refereed articles on modeling and IC design. He holds patents on software architecture and algorithms for modeling tools and has others pending. He is co-author of three books and has served on several technical program committees for IEEE conferences.

He is currently serving the profession as Immediate Past-President of the IEEE Power Electronics Society until 2021. Dr. Mantooth is a Fellow of the IEEE, a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu, and registered professional engineer in Arkansas. Professor Mantooth serves as the Executive Director for NCREPT, GRAPES (the NSF I/UCRC for GRid-connected Advanced Power Electronic Systems), and SEEDS (DoE Center for Secure, Evolvable Energy Delivery Systems). He also serves as the Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Power Optimization of Electro-Thermal Systems (POETS).

  • Analog and mixed-signal IC Design and CAD
  • Power electronics design and CAD
  • Semiconductor device modeling


  • Electronics I
  • Electronics II
  • Senior Design
  • Modeling and Simulation of Mixed-Signal Circuits and Systems
  • Power Semiconductor Devices
  • Analog & Mixed-signal Circuit Design
  • Analog CAD
  • Semiconductor Device Modeling
  • Power Electronics


  • B.S., Electrical Engineering, University of Arkansas
  • M.S., Electrical Engineering, University of Arkansas
  • Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Texas Instruments (1984, 1985)
  • Analogy, Inc (1989, 1990-1998)
  • University of Arkansas (1998-present)


                           Fellow of IEEE (citation: “for contributions to power electronic device modeling”) – 2009

                               R&D 100 Award for World’s First Silicon Carbide Power Module Operational to 250 °C (rating = 1200 V, 150+ A) – 2009

                           R&D 100 Award for Silicon Carbide Electric Vehicle Battery Charger – 2014

                           R&D 100 Award for High Power Density Electric Vehicle Motor Drive – 2016

         IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer – 2003-04

         IEEE Power Electronics Society President-Elect – 2016

         IEEE Power Electronics Society President – 2017-18

         IEEE Power Electronics Society Control and Modeling Technical Achievement Award – 2019.

         IEEE Power Electronics Society Immediate Past-President – 2019-20


         2001 Fred M. Carter Award (highest score on the PE exam in Arkansas)

         2015- Present Arkansas Research Alliance Fellow


         Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Analogy, Inc., – 1996 

         Georgia Tech Council of Outstanding Engineering Alumni – Inducted 2002

         Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineering – Inducted 2006

         UA Outstanding Mentor – 2006, 2007, 2008

         UA Gold Medal Mentor Award – 2007

         UA John A. White Award for Outstanding Faculty-Student Collaborations – 2008-09

         Arkansas Alumni Association Distinguished Research Award (University-wide Outstanding Researcher) – 2010-11

         SEC Faculty Achievement Award from the University of Arkansas – 2014-15


         UA Academic Advising Council College of Engineering Outstanding Undergraduate Advisor – 2007

         John L. Imhoff Award for Outstanding Researcher in the College of Engineering – 2010-11, 2015-16

         Dean’s Awards of Excellence - Most Engaging Research Faculty Award – 2014-15

         Dean’s Awards of Excellence - Senior Faculty Award – 2015-16

         College of Engineering Outstanding Public Service Award – 2018-19


         Eta Kappa Nu Electrical Engineering Faculty of the Year – 1999-00, 2003-04

         Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineering Outstanding Faculty Award – 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005

         William D. and Margaret A. Brown Faculty Excellence Award – 2008-09

         Outstanding Teacher Award in Electrical Engineering – 2000-01, 2006-07, 2012-13

         Outstanding Service to Students Award in Electrical Engineering – 2004-05, 2018-19

         Outstanding Researcher Award in Electrical Engineering – 2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2009-10, 2011-12, 2013-14, 2017-18